Hi everyone

I have been eager on discussing a famous couple of the literature world with you: Sylvia Plath and Ted Hughes. There is a lot to be told about them and there surely has been and I still keep wondering who they were.

Jij zegt het

I haven’t read any of Sylvia’s work yet, but I plan to do that this summer (my reading list is getting a bit too long I think… :p ). What I want to read to, is a book by the Dutch author Connie Palmen, who won the Libris Literature Prize with Jij zegt het (in English: You say so), in which she apparently points out Ted Hughes’ view of the whole story. I read in an article once that Sylvia suffered from depressions and ultimately commited suicide and that Hughes got the blame for the sad occurance…

Sylvia Plath1

I am so very interested in the life of Sylvia and Ted. I read and hear that she was a talented poet who died way to soon. I would love to analyse her poems, but I am not going to study literature next year, so I fear I will not be able to do it on an academic level…

By the way, I really wonder what the fox and the bird on the cover stand for… I’ll let you know when I find out. 🙂

Do you have these authors you always keep wondering about? And what do you think of Sylvia and Ted? Wanting to know how they were, what occured in their life? Let me know in the reactions below!

xx

Charlotte

 

Leave a Reply

